The ASC network

5 European universities, ASC partners since 2005, have been working together to design and implement a joint master course in Advanced Spectroscopy in Chemistry (first student intake: 2006).


  • University Alma Mater of Bologna, Italyeurpn-mp

  • University of Helsinki, Finland

  • Jagiellonian University in Krakow, Poland

  • Leipzig University, Germany

  • University of Lille, France (Coordinating institution)


Benefit from a broad international network: The program includes a mandatory mobility within the ASC consortium and is taught in English in all 5 universities.
Over the years, the ASC consortium has developed links with 14 associated partners: global industrial partners producing spectrometers (Bruker, Magnetech) as well as regional competitiveness clusters (MATIKEM in Lille, NEU in Leipzig). A privileged partnership has also been established with great research facilities such as Synchroton SOLEIL in France and ELETTRA in Italy.

Shema ASC

In 2019 the ASC network is expanding again and developping links with non European universities towards their integration as associated partners (non degree-awarding):

  • Harbin Institute of Technology, P R C
  • V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University, Ukraine
  • Lebanese American University, Liban

This large academic and industrial network merges its state of the art equipment and expertise to offer international students a high quality education program covering the application of spectroscopic techniques to chemistry in a broad sense, and wide career opportunities in chemical analysis and characterization of the structure of materials in the fields of molecular synthesis, biology, nanotechnologies, modeling, pharmacy, green chemistry, materials, and sustainable energies.

Quality assurance: The ASC master’s course has been awarded the Erasmus Mundus label and funded  by the European Union three times for the periods 2008-2014, 2015-2020 and currently 2020-2026. It is now highly recognized. In addition, this European master’s course was awarded the Euromaster label by the European Chemistry Thematic Network (ECTN) in 2008 and this label has been renewed in 2019.